I am an empath, now what?

“I am Grounded. I am Connected. I am Protected.” 

I repeat this affirmation to myself a lot. When I’m overwhelmed, when I’m scattered, when I’m anxious. This affirmation brings me back into the present and provides me a reminder to bring my energy back to myself.

I’m FINALLY going to let you all in on how I have gained some control over my empath side, how I opened my intuition, and I’m going to keep it very simple. Everyone can do it. But it might sound way out there for those who are not into woo woo.

Grounding, clearing, shielding.

Everything is energy. Our thoughts, emotions, our bodies, all operate and respond to the vibrations of that energy. Some of us are naturally at a vibration that makes us sensitive to other peoples energy. When we are operating at that higher vibe we can be a bit air headed, forgetful, overwhelmed. Sometimes we take on other people’s emotions as if they are our own, which is so hard when that person is scattered, angry, frustrated. Taking the time to ground ourselves is the first step in being able to gain some control.

What is grounding?

When we ground ourselves we connect to the earth, use her energy to even ourselves out. There is a lot of different information out there, lots of different ways, lots of different ways to get our energy back and center ourselves. I’m going to keep it simple, and give you the one way that I’ve found works the best for me.

Sit on the earth. Walk around your yard barefoot. Go for a walk in the woods. Go for a hike. Sit and appreciate Mother Earth and her beauty.

Simple right? Taking it a step further, if you can meditate or visualize, visualize your connection growing roots deep to the center of the earth.

If you can’t get outside, sit in your favorite chair with your feet flat on the floor, and visualize roots growing into the earth. Sit and do it for a good 10-15 minutes.

Dark crystals are grounding as well. But I will talk about that in another blog post. As well as other woo woo ways to ground yourself. I feel like simple earth grounding is the best way to get that process started. Practice today. Feel the gratitude for all Mother Earth has given us. Feel the connection.

Once you feel that connection you will be better able to stay within yourself, less affected by others energies.

Clearing

Sometimes we need to cleanse and clear ourselves for a fresh start, and get rid of the negative energies. There are so many ways to do this. Incense, sound, sage.

I use palo santo. It has a wonderful scent, that I find very soothing. Its smoke is a powerful and sacred energetic cleanser. Sage bundles work wonderfully as well, and is a bit more mainstream. Incense smoke works as well and can be bought anywhere. Clapping your hands can chase away the negative energies. Making a lot of noise, singing and dancing will chase away the negative energies and welcome the positive.

You can also cleanse your energy in the shower. Visualize the negative leaving your body and aura and washing right down the drain. leaving behind a nice sparkly aura that is nothing but light and positive.

 

Protecting

I’m ready to head to the store and get our grocery shopping done for the week. Big stores are just awful. Such a mix of energy, a lot not positive at all. Trying to keep my mind straight to remember what I need, keep track of my youngest kiddo who wants to hide or twirl in circles down the frozen foods aisle. I end up grabbing the bare minimum and getting the hell out of dodge happy that we survived the experience.

I’ve done my best to ground, and cleanse my energy. Now it is time to protect and shield. Because I’m not going to head into Walmart without shielding myself. Not if I want to drive home safely. I check in with myself, recognize my emotions, take a few deep breaths. I envision myself surrounded by a bubble, and I know nothing of low vibes is going to get in that bubble. Visualizing a disco ball surrounding you is so fun too. PING PING, negativity bouncing right off that disco ball, and I’m safe and sound inside getting my shit done.

I repeat my mantra as needed, as a reminder and setting myself up for success. “I am grounded. I am connected. I am protected.” A few deep breaths and I am ready to go tackle the rest of my day.

When it comes to our empathic and sensitive nature, and protecting our energy, it takes practice to learn what works for us. Don’t feel defeated when it doesn’t happen right away. This journey is incredibly personal. Please take the time to take care of yourself and do what you need to do to replenish your energy! Self care is so important.

Message/email/send me a carrier pigeon if you want a tarot/oracle reading to help you begin your empath journey.  I’m here for you!

Love and Light

❤ Ho

 

3 thoughts on “I am an empath, now what?

  1. I am now not certain where you’re getting your info, however good topic. I must spend some time learning more or figuring out more. Thanks for great information I used to be looking for this information for my mission.

    Like

    1. I am so happy you found me here.

      I found my information from personal experience as well as classes and research along the way.

      It is important to note that everyones experience as an empath is different. The techniques I wrote about above really helped me gain control and take responsibility for my energy and empathic abilities.

      Like

  2. Valuable information. Lucky me I discovered your website unintentionally, and I am surprised why this coincidence did not came about in advance! I bookmarked it.

    Like

Leave a comment